Marshall Center Lends Expertise to Discussion on Black Sea Region

Marshall Center Lends Expertise to Discussion on Black Sea Region

Marshall Center Lends Expertise to Discussion on Black Sea Region

By Public Affairs Office
George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies

BUCHAREST (June 6, 2016) - George C. Marshall European Center’s Black Sea and Eurasia Program Director Dr. Valbona Zeneli participated in the Romanian Intelligence Service’s third annual international program “Security in the Black Sea Region. Shared challenges, sustainable future” program, May 30 to June 4.

The program was held in partnership with Harvard University and with the participation of United States’ National Intelligence University.  The event was opened by the Romanian President H. E. Klaus Iohannis.

Zeneli was part of a panel discussion titled “Security in the Black Sea Region.  Shared Challenges, Sustainable Future.”  She spoke on the importance of addressing economic security challenges for all countries in the wider Black Sea region. The panel was moderated by Tad Olestrom, director of the National Security Program at Harvard University.  Other panelists were Joel Shapiro from National Intelligence University; Eka Gigauri, Executive Director, Transparency International Georgia; Lada Roslycky, Director of Strategic Communications, Ukraine Today; and Valentin Filip, advisor to the Deputy Director of the Romanian Intelligence service.

This conference is attended by senior government leaders, diplomatic and academic stakeholders, experts from intelligence services as well as ministeries of home affairs and defense, from states in the Black Sea Region.  Its main objective is to generate an exchange of innovative ideas and best practices towards preventing and countering security threats to the region. At the same time, the program is designed to promote opportunities and shared interests, which are vital for the sustainable development of the Black Sea Region.

This year's conference was attended by more than 80 people, keynote speakers and participants from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Canada, Germany, Georgia, Greece, the Netherlands, the United States, the Russian Federation, Moldova, Romania, Turkey, and Ukraine, as well as high ranking officials and experts from the European Union and NATO.